05 March 2013

Olympians, Defending Champions, Record Holders and more ...

This year's B&E Launceston Ten has attracted one of the strongest ever 10km fields to run on the streets of Australia. A glance down the Australian All time 10km road list and many of the top runners from it will be lining up in Launceston on June 16.

No doubt the biggest name on the list is Craig Mottram. The 32 year old Victorian is arguably Australia's greatest distance runner, owning the national records for the mile, 2000m, 3000m and 5000m.  Famous for taking on the African's and beating them, Mottram is a World Championships bronze medalist from 2005 and Commonwealth Games silver medalist from 2006, both over 5000m. It will be his first time racing at the B&E Launceston Ten.

Last year's winner Michael Shelley is also returning. One of the toughest men to beat on the streets, Shelley was Australia's top placed male marathon runner at last year London Olympics and in 2010 won the silver medal in the marathon at the Delhi Commonwealth Games.

Australian 10,000m record holder Ben St Lawrence will return to the B&E Launceston Ten. The Olympic 10,000m finalist has lined up in each of the big 10km road races in Tasmania, but is yet to walk away with the winners cheque from either of the B&E Burnie Ten, B&E Hobart Run The Bridge or B&E Launceston Ten, however this year will be keen to do so.

A man who has won all three of those races and is coming to Launceston again on June 16 is Liam Adams. Fresh off running a massive personal best in the 5,000m at the Melbourne IAAF World Challenge on Saturday, Adams will be keen to win his second title and pocket the $4000 winners cheque.

Two time winner Marty Dent is also returning to Launceston, looking to make it three wins. Dent was the fastest 10km road runner in Australia last year, after a slick 28:37 at the Sydney Harbour 10k last year and is one of Australia's most consistent distance runners of all time.

Add to that field a host of other interstate athletes and Tasmania's best, it is shaping up as one of the greatest 10km road races Australia has seen in this current generation.

The women's field is also boasting some of the nations best. Previous winner Lara Tamsett will be looking to continue her strong run of races in Tasmania, having picked up the same trifecta that Adams has completed over the years.

Last year's silver medalist in the Australian title and Olympic marathon Jess Trengove of Adelaide will also toe the line, in search of victory.

The full list of elite athletes confirmed so far includes;


  • Michael Shelley, Gold Coast
  • Marty Dent, Canberra
  • Ben St Lawrence, Sydney
  • Craig Mottram, Melbourne
  • Liam Adams, Melbourne
  • Harry Summers, Sydney
  • Stephen Dineen, Melbourne
  • Ben Ashkettle, Melbourne
  • Grant Page, Hobart
  • Pat Smith, Launceston
  • Josh Harris, Launceston
  • James Hanson, Launceston
  • Jake Birtwhistle, Launceston
  • Dejen Gebreselassie, Hobart
  • Douglas Hamerlok, Burnie
  • David Thomas, Launceston
  • Brian Lyons, Devonport


  • Jess Trengove, Adelaide
  • Lara Tamsett, Sydney
  • Linda Spencer, Perth
  • Julie Norney, Melbourne
  • Domenic Michienzi, Melbourne
  • Sophie Barker, Melbourne
  • Mel Daniels, Hobart
  • Jacqui Dalwood, Burnie
  • Kate Pedley, Launceston

Enter Online today!

Internet Banking